Watch out for the ‘Fanebook’ Facebook forgery | Matt Bigelow | Blog

« Where do people find the time? | What I love about Zillow (And hate about real estate agents and old media) »

Do not give your login information to Fanebook.com.

I received two e-mails from ‘wallmaster+f_444za6@facebookmail.com,’ which, through the glory of gMail, just showed up as “Facebook” in my inbox, informing me that a friend had left a message on my wall.

The messages looked downright phishy (”lol this vid is so crazy and funny! check it out http://facebook.com.vids.myspacevds.com”) and here’s a screen shot of the Fanebook clone below:

As you can see Fanebook looks identical to Facebook, but you can see the slightly different URL in your browser. I didn’t have time to look at the source code this morning, but apparently it’s all in JavaScript, according to a few folks who dug through it over the weekend: Weblog.com.np, hem.com and Pi’s blog.

If you’ve given your password and account information to Fanebook, you might want to see if you can still log in to your account. If you can’t, make sure that other sites you use (for online banking, etc.) don’t use the same password.

This entry was posted on Monday, August 18th, 2008 at 7:32 am and is filed under Blog, Facebook. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply